33 schools in southeast MO receive grant funding for Project Prom

one hundred dollar bills (Source: Pexels/John Guccione www.advergroup.com)
one hundred dollar bills (Source: Pexels/John Guccione www.advergroup.com)

SIKESTON, Mo. (KBSI) – The Southeast Coalition for Roadway Safety is awarding grant funding for project prom and graduation events at 33 schools across the district.

The schools were recently awarded $200 for student lock-in events. The funding assists with event expenses such as location rental, food, or entertainment. Schools will also receive roadway safety educational items to share with students.

To be eligible, schools must include a presentation or activity educating students on highway safety issues during their lock-in or the week of the event.

Traffic fatalities are on the rise, according to the Southeast Coalition for Roadway Safety. Therefore, safety education is critical to reducing serious injuries and deaths on Missouri’s roadways, according to the Southeast Coalition for Roadway Safety.

Schools are choosing to educate students in a variety of ways that include presentations and programs by the Missouri State Highway Patrol, Safe and Sober, ThinkFirst and docudramas.

“Traffic crashes have a lasting effect on each of us. Through education programs like Project Prom/Graduation, BUPD or Arrive Alive, hopefully we can change the causes or impact of these crashes.” says Sergeant Clark Parrott, Missouri State Highway Patrol Troop E Public Information Officer.

Tap here to view the complete list of grant winners.

  • Ava High School
  • Bismarck High School
  • Bloomfield High School
  • Campbell High School
  • Charleston High School
  • Dexter High School
  • Doniphan High School
  • Dora High School
  • East Carter County High School
  • Ellington High School
  • Eminence High School
  • Gainesville High School
  • Gideon High School
  • Greenville High School
  • Hartville High School
  • Jackson High School
  • Koshkonong High School
  • Leopold High School
  • Licking High School
  • Malden High School
  • Naylor High School
  • New Madrid County Central High School
  • Norwood High School
  • Plato High School
  • Portageville High School
  • Richland High School
  • Risco High School
  • Summersville High School
  • Thayer High School
  • Twin Rivers High School
  • Van Buren High School
  • West Plains High School
  • Willow Springs High School
Categories: News