New Williamson County sheriff sworn in

WILLIAMSON COUNTY, Ill. (KBSI) – Williamson County has a new sheriff. Jeff Diederich was sworn in on Thursday, December 1 about 9 a.m.

The ceremony was held in the Williamson County Courthouse surrounded by family, friends, supporters, and representatives of state, county, and municipal law enforcement agencies.

Immediately following the swearing in ceremony Sheriff Diederich held a meeting with all sheriff’s office employees and announced the appointment of his command staff.

He appointed Robert Terry to the position of Chief Deputy. Chief Deputy Terry has more than 20 years of law enforcement and administration experience.

Diederich also promoted Williamson County Lieutenant Jeff Moore to the position of Captain to lead the patrol division. Captain Moore has been with the Williamson County Sheriff’s Office for the past 18 years and has a combined 30 years of experience.

Sheriff Diederich appointed Detective Carl Eggemeyer to lead the investigations unit of the Williamson County Sheriff’s Office. Detective Eggemeyer has more than 20 years of law enforcement and investigations experience.

Categories: News