Kentucky Transportation Cabinet launches ‘Name the Plow’ program

(KBSI) – The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet is launching its first-ever “Name the Plow” program.

The program is to foster community excitement when crews are out.

In keeping with priorities to promote safety in the commonwealth, the Beshear administration is taking extra measures this year to prepare for winter weather.

November is traditionally KYTC snow and ice season launch, where more than 2,000 staff and crew members stand ready to keep roads passable for the safe movement of people and goods throughout the state.

The “Name the Plow” program offers drivers a chance to name one of 14 snow trucks in the state. One truck will be named in each of Kentucky’s 12 highway districts and two tow plows from the Franklin County-based KYTC strike force. The name will be displayed on the vehicle so people can see it while it’s out for pre-treating and plowing activities.

Kentucky residents of all ages can submit names beginning Nov. 14 and running through Dec. 2 by completing this online form. KYTC staff will vote on the winning names, and winners will be announced in early January. Entry rules are posted on the form. Tap here to view the form and enter your name for a plow.

Related story:

KYTC crews prepped and ready for winter weather, MSHP urges drivers to be extra vigilant

Categories: News